2011 NFL Predictions

The crystal ball is kind of foggy when looking at this NFL season but some things have really cleared up as of late.  As key injuries fall to the wayside, and the season approaches it becomes more clear how this season should shake out.    Some things to keep in mind is that the last time a team repeated as NFC Champions was Brett Favre and the Green Bay Packers in 1997 and 1998.  Also, on average, 5 new teams make the NFL Playoffs every year.  I considered offseason improvements in my grades as well as the number of returning players and offseason activities given the lockout situation.

Two key offseason injuries were Peyton Manning (Colts) and Tony Moeaki (Chiefs).

Without further ado, my NFL predictions –

* denotes playoff teams

NFC North –

1. Green Bay Packers*

2. Detroit Lions*

3. Minnesota Vikings

4. Chicago Bears

NFC East –

1. Philadelphia Eagles*

2. Dallas Cowboys

3. New York Giants

4. Washington Redskins

NFC South –

1. New Orleans Saints*

2. Atlanta Falcons*

3. Tampa Bay Buccaneers

4. Carolina Panthers

NFC West –

1. St. Louis Rams*

2. Arizona Cardinals

3. Seattle Seahawks

4. San Francisco 49ers

AFC North –

1. Baltimore Ravens*

2. Pittsburgh Steelers

3. Cleveland Browns

4. Cincinnati Bengals

AFC East –

1. New England Patriots*

2. New York Jets*

3. Miami Dolphins

4. Buffalo Bills

AFC South –

1. Houston Texans*

2. Indianapolis Colts

3. Tennessee Titans

4. Jacksonville Jaguars

AFC West –

1. Oakland Raiders*

2. Kansas City Chiefs*

3. San Diego Chargers

4. Denver Broncos


1. Aaron Rodgers, QB, Green Bay Packers

2. Tom Brady, QB, New England Patriots

3. Phillip Rivers, QB, San Diego Chargers

4. Michael Vick, QB, Philadelphia Eagles

5. Adrian Peterson, RB, Minnesota Vikings

Defensive Player of the Year –

1. Ndamukong Suh, DT, Detroit Lions

2. DeMarcus Ware, LB, Dallas Cowboys

3. Clay Mathews, LB, Green Bay Packers

4. Albert Haynesworth, DT, New England Patriots

5. Darelle Revis, CB, New York Jets

Comeback Player of the Year –

1. Matthew Stafford, QB, Detroit Lions

2. Albert Haynesworth, DT, New England Patriots

3. Tony Romo, QB, Dallas Cowboys

4. Cedric Griffin, CB, Minnesota Vikings

5. Sidney Rice, WR, Seattle Seahawks

Offensive Rookie of the Year –

1. Mark Ingram, RB, New Orleans Saints

2. Julio Jones, WR, Atlanta Falcons

3. Andy Dalton, QB, Cincinnati Bengals

4. Lance Kendricks, TE, St. Louis  Rams

5. Torrey Smith, WR Baltimore Ravens

Defensive Rookie of the Year –

1. Von Miller, LB, Denver Broncos

2. Patrick Peterson, CB, Arizona Cardinals

3. Marcell Dareus, DE, Buffalo Bills

4. J.J. Watt, DE, Houston Texans

5. Phil Taylor, DT, Cleveland Browns

Coach of the Year –

1. Gary Kubiak, Houston Texans

2. Bill Bellichick, New England Patriots

3. Andy Reid, Philadelphia Eagles

4. Steve Spagnuolo, St. Louis Rams

5. Mike McCarthy, Green Bay Packers


Wild Card Round –

(3) Philadelphia Eagles vs. (6) Detroit Lions

(4) St. Louis Rams vs. (5) Atlanta Falcons

(3) Oakland Raiders vs. (6) Kansas City Chiefs

(4) Houston Texans vs. (5) New York Jets

Divisional Playoffs –

(1) Green Bay Packers vs. (5) Atlanta Falcons

(2) New Orleans Saints vs. (3) Philadelphia Eagles

(1) New England Patriots vs. (6) Kansas City Chiefs

(2) Baltimore Ravens vs. (5) New York Jets

NFC Championship –

(1) Green Bay Packers vs. (2) New Orleans Saints

AFC Championship –

(1) New England Patriots vs. (2) Baltimore Ravens

Super Bowl –

New Orleans Saints vs. New England Patriots

Champion –

New Orleans Saints

Super Bowl MVP: Drew Brees


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s